The Cast

The cast of Stride On come from Thurrock Scout District and the Thurrock West and Thurrock East Guide Divisions. It is made up of Cubs, Brownies, Scouts, Guides, Explorers, Rangers and Leaders from a number of groups. Show rehearsals start in September and continue every Sunday until the show in March/April.


  • Aveley
  • Chadwell St. Mary
  • Chafford Hundred
  • 2nd Corringham
  • East Tilbury
  • 7th Grays
  • Hillside
  • 1st Ockendon
  • Orsett and Bulphan
  • 2nd Stanford-le-Hope
  • Stifford
  • 1st Thors Oak
  • Thameside
  • Tilbury
  • Aquila Explorers
  • Fornax Explorers
  • Pyxis Explorers
  • Scorpius Young Leaders
  • Zenith Explorers
  • Phoenix Network
  • AVOCK Scout Active Support
  • OATS Scout Active Support
  • Gang Show Scout Active Support
  • Thurrock Scout District


  • 3rd Aveley
  • 1st Chadwell St. Mary
  • 2nd Chafford Hundred
  • 4th Grays
  • 3rd Little Thurrock
  • 1st Ockendon
  • 7th South Ockendon
  • Tilbury
  • 2nd West Thurrock
  • Thurrock West Division

The Crew

With any show, professional or amateur, a huge backstage team is needed to allow the show to go ahead and Stride On is no different. From props to publicity and from sound and lighting to refreshments. The team works their socks off making sure the show is as good as it can be.

Our 2017 Crew

Directed by Jan Thurnell – the longest-serving Gang Show Director in the world.


Graham Monk

Vice Chairman

David Tapsell


Helen Cosans


Debbie Newell


Len Whittaker


Janet McCheyne MBE


James Green

Musical Assistant

Lewis Markham

Assistant Choreographers

Jacqui Kitchenham

Samantha Barnfather

Stage Manager

Terry Mead

Stage Crew

Dennis Ray

Trevor Gilbey

Brian Townsend

Glenn Webb

Gary Barnfather

Ross Bibby

Michael Gore

Peter Gore

Danielle Clifford

Ashley Hampton


Debbie Newell


Sandy Ray

Jane Gore

Sandra Smith

Mel Lyon

Tracey Mead

Rita Poyser

Helen Cosans

Maggie Clarke


David Henderson

Box Office

Tracey Clay

Sophie Clay

Cast Reps

Samantha Barnfather

Scott Kitchenham


Welfare Officers

Sue Rogers

Janet Tidman


Karen Outten

Denise Cable

Hayley Newell


Nina Kitchenham

Grant Kitchenham

Hayley Newell

Liam Pattullo


Kerrie Green

Janet Thomas

Paula Newton

Sue Smith

Trudie Pavitt


Ian Newell

Andrew Gilbey


Lucy Hill

Front Of House

Lucy Hill

Joyce Stock

Lynn Taylor

Charlotte Webb

Amy Gore

Stage Lighting & Effects

Neil Ashurst

Cliff Rozee

Thameside Theatre Staff